Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Prof Faizan Mustafa unanimously elected as CNLU President

Prof Faizan Mustafa unanimously elected as CNLU President

The Annual Meeting of the Consortium of National Law Universities was held yesterday, Thursday, November 12, 2020.  The Governing Body considered the Grievance Committee Report prepared by the Committee headed by  Hon’ble Shri Justice S. Rajendra Babu, Former Chief Justice of India and Executive Committee’s recommendation on the sand report.  The Governing Body approved the report and expressed its gratitude to the Chairman and the Committee members.

The Members thanked Prof. Balraj Chauhan, Convener-CLAT 2020 for successfully completing the process of CLAT-2020 in an unprecedented year of COVID-19.     Prof. Balraj Chauhan in his report gave details of CLAT-2020 and thanked the President, Members of the Executive Committee and the Members of the Governing Body. The Governing Body also appreciated the efforts of Prof. Faizan Mustafa who had discharged the duties of the Secretary in the unusual circumstances of National Law School of India University’s sudden decision to opt out of CLAT – 2020.

Prof. Faizan Mustafa in his report stated that as many as eight Executive Committee Meetings and six Governing Body meetings were held between September 3, 2020 to November 12, 2020 and all decisions were taken in a consultative manner.  He also appreciated the efforts made by Prof. Sudhir Krishnaswamy in implementing the reforms in the format of the CLAT paper and all other related matters till  September 3, 2020.

Midle of the post

The Governing Body unanimously elected Prof. Faizan Mustafa, Vice-Chancellor, NALSAR as President; Prof. Poonam Saxena, Vice-Chancellor, NLU Jodhpur as Vice-President, Prof. Vijender Kumar, Vice-Chancellor, MNLU, Nagpur as Convener, CLAT- 2021 and Prof. V.C.Vivekanandan, Vice-Chancellor, HNLU, Raipur as the Member of the Executive Committee for CLAT-2021.

Prof. Faizan Mustafa in his virtual take over as new President thanked the members for reposing confidence in him. He thanked the outgoing President, Prof. V. Vijayakumar for his visionary leadership.  He also thanked Prof. Paramjit S. Jaswal, the outgoing Vice-President for his contribution in the cases fought by the Consortium and his interventions in the Executive Committee and Governing Body Meetings.

He also thanked Prof. Balraj Chauhan for his support in extremely testing times prior and after the conduct of CLAT-2020.  He said Prof. Kesava Rao Vurrakula, Vice-Chancellor, NUSRL, Ranchi has also been very supportive and participated in the Executive Meetings on a short notice.  Prof. Faizan Mustafa sought continued support and patronage of Prof. V. Vijayakumar who will continue as the Member of the Executive Committee in his ex-officio position. The new Executive Committee will soon meet to finalise the details about CLAT-2021.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.