Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Policy to boost Agricultural Exports

The Government introduced a comprehensive Agriculture Export Policy with the following vision:

“Harness export potential of Indian agriculture, through suitable policy instruments, to make India a global power in agriculture, and raise farmers’ income.”

Inter-alia, the objectives of the Agriculture Export policy are as under:

To diversify our export basket, destinations and boost high value and value added agricultural exports, including focus on perishables.

To promote novel, indigenous, organic, ethnic, traditional and non-traditional Agri products exports.

To provide an institutional mechanism for pursuing market access, tackling barriers and dealing with sanitary and phytosanitary issues.

To strive to double India’s share in world agri exports by integrating with global value chains.

To enable farmers to get benefit of export opportunities in overseas market.

As part of the Agriculture Export Policy (AEP), several unique product-district clusters have been identified for export promotion, based on factors like existing production and export endowments, scalability of operations, size of the export  market / India’s share, and the potential for increase in exports. The list of indicative clusters identified in the AEP is at Annexure-I.


List of Clusters


Product Region State District


Kerala Thrissur, Wayanad, Thiruvananthapuram
Andhra Pradesh Kadapa, Anantapur
Tamil Nadu Trichy, Theni, Pollachi
West Maharashtra Jalgaon, Kolhapur, Solapur
Gujarat Bharuch, Narmada, Surat
Pomegranate South Andhra Pradesh Anantapur, Kurnool
Karnataka Belgaum, Mysore
West Maharashtra Solapur, Ahmednagar, Pune
Central Madhya Pradesh Khargone, Khandwa, Burhanpur
Mango West Maharashtra Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg
Gujarat Junagarh, Valsad, Kutch, Navsari
North Uttar Pradesh Saharanpur, Meerut, Lucknow
South Telangana Rangareddy, Mehboobnagar, Warangal
Andhra Pradesh Krishna, Chittoor, Kurnool
Grapes West Maharashtra Pune, Nasik, Sangli
Rose Onion South Karnataka Bangalore Rural, Chikkaballapura
Onion West Maharashtra Nasik
Central Madhya Pradesh Indore, Sagar, Damoh
Potato North Uttar Pradesh Agra, Farukkabad
Punjab Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Kapurthala, Navashehar
West Gujarat Banaskantha, SabarKantha
Central Madhya Pradesh Indore, Gwalior
Tea East Assam Tinsukia, Sibsagar, Dibrugarh
Coffee South Karnataka Chikkamagaluru, Kodagu, Hassan
Marine products South Andhra Pradesh East Godavari, Vishakapatnam, West Godavari, Nellore
East Odisha Jagatsinghpur, Bhadrak, Balasore
West Gujarat Kutch, Veraval, Navasari, Valsad
Chilli South Telangana Khammam, Warangal
Andhra Pradesh Guntur


South Telangana Nizamabad, Karimnagar
Kerala Wayanad, Alleppy


Meghalaya West Jaintia Hills
Odisha Kandhamal
Cumin West Gujarat Banaskantha, Mehsana
North Rajasthan Jalore, Jodhpur, Barmer, Nagaur, Pali
Pepper South


Kerala Wayanad
Karnataka Chikmagalur
Cardamom South Kerala Idukki
Isabgol North Rajasthan Jodhpur, Nagaur, Barmer, Jaisalmer
Castor West Gujarat Banaskantha, Kutch, Patan, Sabarkantha, Mehsana
Orange West Maharashtra Nagpur, Amravati, Wardha


This information was given by the Minister of State in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Shri Hardeep Singh Puri, in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.