Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Puducherry: CM Narayanasamy to seek vote of confidence in Assembly

Puducherry, Chief Minister V Narayanasamy will seek a vote of confidence in the Assembly today. Lt Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan has  directed Narayanasamy government to prove majority on the floor of the House by 5 PM today.

Meanwhile, political crisis has further deepened in Puducherry after two ruling alliance MLAs resigned from Assembly yesterday, a day before a floor test. Congress MLA K Lakshminarayanan and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) legislator Venkatesan announced their resignations yesterday. Four Congress MLAs had quit earlier, while another party legislator was disqualified for anti-party activities last year.

Midle of the post

Following the resignations of six MLAs and one disqualification, the effective strength of the Puducherry Assembly is 26. The government has 12 MLAs — one short of the halfway mark. This includes the Speaker, a Congress MLA — but he cannot vote unless there is a tie.

The opposition has 14 MLAs — 7 from NR Congress, 4 from the AIADMK, and three MLAs nominated by the central government.

After holding consultations with the Congress-led alliance, chief minister Narayanasamy told reporters that he will announce his decision on the floor of the House, when the assembly convenes at 10 am today.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.