Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Assam: Himanta Biswa Sarma sworn-in as CM

Himanta Biswa Sarma is the 15th chief minister of Assam, and the second Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) CM of the northeastern state. Sarma succeeds party colleague Sarbananda Sonowal in office.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Himant Biswa Sarma was on Monday sworn-in as the new chief minister of Assam, a day after he was elected “unanimously” as the leader of the BJP’s legislature party in the state. Sarma, who was administered oath of office by Assam governor Jagdish Mukhi in Guwahati, is the 15th chief minister of the northeastern state.

Midle of the post

The oath of office was also administered to 13 newly-elected MLAs of the BJP and its alliance partners, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the United People Party Liberal (UPPL).

BJP president JP Nadda was present at the swearing-in ceremony of Sarma, who is only the second BJP chief minister of Assam, succeeding party colleague Sarbananda Sonowal, who completed a successful five-year-term after being handed the state’s top job post the BJP-led alliance’s victory in the assembly elections here in 2016.

Besides Nadda, former CM Sonowal also attended the ceremony. BJP chief ministers from Assam’s neighbouring northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya, Manipur and Nagaland were present as well, news agency ANI reported. The new Assam chief minister is also the convenor of the North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.