Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Maharashtra: 12 BJP MLAs suspended for one year from state Assembly

In Maharashtra, the first day of the two-day Monsoon Session of the State Legislature concluded on a stormy note. 12 BJP MLAs were suspended for one year over their unruly behaviour in the Assembly today. Maharashtra legislative Assembly Speaker in-Chair Bhaskar Jadhav alleged that the Opposition MLAs abused him.

Legislative Affairs Minister Anil Parab presented a resolution to suspend the BJP MLAs and the house passed it by a voice vote. The BJP, while boycotting the house, termed it an act to suppress its voice and an attempt to bring down the number of the Opposition.

The 12 suspended BJP MLAs are Sanjay Kute, Ashish Shelar, Abhimanyu Pawar, Girish Mahajan, Atul Bhatkhalkar, Parag Alavni, Harish Pimpale, Ram Satpute, Vijay Kumar Rawal, Yogesh Sagar, Narayan Kuche and Kirtikumar Bangdia.

Midle of the post

Leader of the Opposition Devendra Fadnavis raised a point of order before Minister Chhagan Bhujbal who was presenting the resolution seeking an empirical data on OBCs from the Central Government.

However, Speaker-in-Chair disallowed him and directed Mr. Bhujbal to present the resolution. Reacting to this, the agitated BJP members rushed in front of his Speaker’s table and smacked the mike. They also tried to lift the sceptre in front of the Speaker’s chair.

After the house assembled again, Mr. Jadhav Informed the Assembly that BJP MLAs rushed inside his chamber and abused him. LOP Mr. Fadnavis accepted that there were some heated exchanges of words as the BJP MLAs were angry.

But, he stated that BJP members apologised Jadhav later. The ruling coalition, however, went ahead with the resolution and subsequently, the 12 MLAs were suspended for a year. Speaking to reporters, Mr. Fadnavis strongly condemned government’s move. He alleged that its government’s plan to suspend his party’s MLAs in order to silence them.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.