Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

West Bengal: CM Mamata Banerjee leads by over 45,738 votes in bypoll for Bhabanipur assembly seat

In West Bengal, counting of votes for bypoll to Bhabanipur and poll to Shamshergunj and Jangipur assembly constituencies is underway amid strict security.

AITC candidates are leading in all three seats. In Bhabanipur, Trinamool Congress candidate Mamata Banerjee is leading by 45,738 votes after 17 rounds of counting.

BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal is in second place while CPIM candidate Srijib Biswas is in third place. 21 rounds will take place in this seat. AIR correspondent reports, in Kolkata, strict security arrangements are in place at Sakhawat Memorial School where counting of votes for Bhabanipur bypoll is underway.

Midle of the post

Since beginning of counting this morning, Trinamool Congress candidate and Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee has been leading in the seat, followed by BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal and CPIM candidate Srijib Biswas.

In the last election held in May earlier this year, AITC won the seat with over 28 thousand votes. Ms Banerjee has already secured a comfortable margin of over 40 thousand votes and party supporters started gathering outside her residence for early celebration.

In Shamshergunj, AITC candidate Amirul Islam is leading by 8363 votes after 13 rounds while in Jangipur, AITC candidate Jakir Hossain is leading by over 34 thousand votes after 13 rounds of counting.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.