Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Chennai Super Kings bags IPL-2021 Title

IPL 2021 Final: Faf du Plessis stars as MS Dhoni leads CSK to 4th title, KKR’s inspired run ends in heartbreak

Chennai beat Kolkata by 27 runs

IPL 2021 Final: Chennai Super Kings defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in Dubai on Friday to win their 4th title in their 9th final. MS Dhoni became the oldest captain to lead a team to glory in the premier T20 tournament.

CSK defeated KKR by 27 runs in the IPL 2021 final in Dubai

MS Dhoni became the oldest captain to win an IPL title

Faf du Plessis’s 85 and an all-round bowling effort sealed the deal for CSK

4IPL titles in 9 finals with Chennai Super Kings! The aura of MS Dhoni, the leader keeps growing as CSK hammered Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the IPL 2021 final in Dubai on Friday. Dhoni’s men became only the second team in the history of the Indian Premier League to win more than 3 titles.


It was a dream comeback for the Men in Yellow as CSK, who missed out on the play-offs berth for the first time in the history of the tournament in 2020, romped to the title in 2021, making a statement once again. MS Dhoni’s men came up with a nearly spotless campaign as they qualified for the play-offs ahead of the chasing pack and asserted their dominance in the knockout stages.

CSK have won their 2nd title since coming back from a suspension in 2018 and their 4th overall to go with the double they completed in 2010 and 2011.

IPL 2021 Final: CSK vs KKR Highlights

On Friday, things did not go MS Dhoni’s way at the toss as Eoin Morgan won the toss and Kolkata Knight Riders opted to bowl. It looked like it was an advantage KKR as teams batting second had won the last 8 matches in Dubai before the big final. However, Dhoni’s men brought in all their experience to put on a masterclass of handling the nerves in the final.

Another day, another masterclass from du Plessis, Ruturaj

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis did not let their captain down as they attacked the KKR new-ball bowlers with the ease that they displayed throughout the season. Gaikwad took up the aggressor’s role to hit a 27-ball 32. During the knock, Ruturaj also became the youngest man to win the Orange Cap for the most runs in an IPL season — 635 runs.

His senior partner Faf du Plessis was trying his hard to win the Orange Cap as he came up with a stunning 59-ball 85 during which he picked the bones out of the KKR attack. Du Plessis finished the season with 633 runs, 2 less than Ruturaj. in fact, Du Plessis went for a six off the final delivery of the CSK innings but he holed out at long on.

However, du Plessis had done the job for his team, stepping up once again when the team needed an in-form batter to do the job. His 85 helped CSK post a mammoth total of 192 runs.

Everything went to script for CSK as KKR wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik missed a stumping opportunity to hand du Plessis an early life.

Meanwhile, Robin Uthappa and Moeen Ali played their roles to perfection as they never let CSK’s scoring rate dip after Ruturaj Gaikwad’s exit.

Midle of the post

Uthappa’s 15-ball 31 was worth the weight in gold as he went after the mystery spinners in Sunil Narine and Varun Chakravarthy. Uthappa hit 3 sixes as CSK scored more than 80 runs between overs 7 and 15, breaking the KKR bowling attack into pieces.

Venkatesh Iyer, Shubman Gill fifties not enough for KKR

Chennai Super Kings survived a scare with the ball as Venkatesh Iyer, who was dropped on 0 by MS Dhoni, hit a quickfire fifty and Shubman Gill continued his fine run to hit a fifty but it was not enough as CSK ran through KKR’s middle-order to close the deal on the big day.

Venkates Iyer continued his dream run as he rode his luck early on before starting to dominate the CSK attack. KKR reached 55 for 0 in the powerplay and 91 runs for the opening stand before Iyer was dismissed by Shardul Thakur.

KKR looked cruising towards the target but Thakur got Iyer and Nitish Rana (1-ball 0) in the same over to tilt the match in favour of CSK.

With Rahul Tripathi not coming in at N0. 4 due to an injury he picked up when fielding in the final, a lot rode on Shubman Gill who was holding the fort at one end.

However, the KKR middle-order failed to step up once again as Sunil Narine (2), Dinesh Karthik (9) and Shakib Al Hasan (0) fell cheaply.

Deepak Chahar hit the nail in KKR’s coffin by removing Shubman Gill for 51 in his final over.

Captain Eoin Morgan, who was struggling fof form, was no able to do much with the bat as he departed for 4.

Young Shivam Mavi (20) and Lockie Ferguson (18) threw their bat around but it was not enough for KKR on the big night.

Dhoni lauds KKR: They deserved to win

KKR’s dream run in the second half of IPL 2021 ended in heartbreak in the final but their campaign caught the notice of Dhoni, who heaped rich praise on he 2-time champions.

“Before I start talking about CSK, it’s important I talk about KKR. For the position they were in after the first phase, it is very difficult to come back and do what they


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.