Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Rajya Sabha: 19 opposition members were suspended for misbehaving in the House

A total of 19 opposition members of the Rajya Sabha were suspended today for the remainder of this week for their unruly behaviour in the House. They include seven MPs from TMC, six from DMK, three from TRS, two from CPI(M) and one from CPI.  Those suspended include Dola Sen, Sushmita Dev, Dr. Santanu Sen, Mausam Noor, Mohamed Abdulla, S Kalyanasundaram, Dr Kanimozhi  Somu, V Sivadasan, Sandosh Kumar and Lingaiah Yadav.

When the House met at 2 PM, opposition members including TMC, Aam Aadmi Party, Left, DMK and others again trooped into the well, raising slogans against the government over the issues of price rise and  GST hike on essential items.

Deputy Chairman Harivansh repeatedly asked for order in the House but the protesting members did not pay heed. He warned them of disrupting the proceedings. He said, the Chair will have to invoke rule 256 against them for continuously disrupting the proceedings.

As ruckus continued, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs V Muraleedharan moved a motion under rule 256 to suspend the protesting members for showing disregard against the Chair and for their unruly behaviour. The House accepted the motion with a voice vote. As the suspended members refuse to leave the House even after a repeated appeal by the Chair, the House was first adjourned twice and later for the day.

During pre-lunch session too, the Rajya Sabha witnessed two adjournments amid continuous uproar by the opposition parties over price rise, GST hike on essential items and Gujarat hooch tragedy. When the House met after the second adjournment at 12:20 PM, opposition members including Aam Aadmi Party, DMK, Left, TMC and others again trooped into the well and continued their sloganeering against the government.

Deputy Chairman Harivansh repeatedly urged the agitating members to go back to their seats saying the entire country is watching. Amid din, he ran the Question Hour. The Deputy Chairman cited rule 256 and warned the agitating members for displaying placards and disrupting the proceedings of the House.

In the morning, when the House assembled for the day, Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu rejected adjournment notices moved by opposition MPs. Following this, Aam Aadmi Party and Congress members trooped into the well-displaying placards over the hooch tragedy in Gujarat.

The House also paid tributes to the martyr and brave soldiers on the 23rd anniversary of Kargil Vijay Diwas. It observed silence as a mark of respect for the brave soldiers.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

If you're looking for a fun and exciting new casino destination, look no further than Pin Up Casino India! Our online casino https://pinupcasino-india.in offers players a wide range of games to choose from, as well as some great bonus offers. We know that Indian players are looking for the best online gaming experience, and we are committed to providing just that! So come join us at Pin Up Casino India today and see what all the fuss is about!